BRAINS – XNA A.I Library – Source Code

July 12, 2009 at 3:24 pm (A.I, XNA) (, , , , , )

image As mentioned in a previous post I have been working on an A.I library for use with XNA games. I have attached the latest source code to this post as well as the location to the SVN which I will be continuing to update.

If you do try it out and find any issues you would like to have fixed, please let me know and I’ll happily respond to requests. If anyone would like to contribute in the form of a patch or just contribute in the form of ideas and feedback, It’s all welcome.

Brains is only about 2 weeks old since I started the clean new project and it’s still very much a work in progress so there are still lots of features I could add to this middleware component to make it more useful.

Brains Source ZIP Download

Brains SVN Root

In the project is the main BRAINSFramework along with the debug AIRendering project. A Gamestatemanagement library for setting up a new game quickly and the AIDemos. There is also a very primitive Behavior tree designer which I’m currently working on making more friendly and feature rich.

I will be writing more comprehensive documentation in due course along with some articles to accompany the BRAINS library.

6 Comments

  1. Kevin said,

    I just checked out the SVN root and it won’t build because the subfolders ScreenManager and Screens are missing and with that, the sourcefiles as well.

    I thought you’d might like to know!

    I’ll go ahead and check out the lib now. :)

    Kind regards,
    Kevin

  2. Kevin said,

    Correction, the source files are only missing. (I just pulled them off the zip file for now.)

  3. conkerjo said,

    Oops.. Apologies, I will try and resolve this as soon as I can.

  4. Alex said,

    Hi – great library! I’m using it on a simple little game I am working on.

    I have a suggested change:

    In the Initialize Method of the Grid.cs file, line 124:

    float _halfCell = CellSize / 2;

    — I have changed locally to —

    float _halfCell = CellSize / 2.0f;

    In order to have precise placement and accurate center positions of GridCells.

    Awesome work mate!

  5. Josh Schell said,

    I grabbed from svn and tried to compile but got the below two errors. Any ideas?

    Error 393 The command “xcopy /Y C:\Users\F10LTWIN7\XNA\XNA Development\Other\brains\src\BRAINSFramework\bin\x86\Debug\Brains.Framework.* C:\Users\F10LTWIN7\XNA\XNA Development\Other\brains\src\BRAINSFramework\..\..\build\Release\” exited with code 4. BrAInS

    Error 394 The command “xcopy /Y C:\Users\F10LTWIN7\XNA\XNA Development\Other\brains\src\BRAINSFramework\bin\Zune\Debug\Brains.Framework.* C:\Users\F10LTWIN7\XNA\XNA Development\Other\brains\src\BRAINSFramework\..\..\build\Release\” exited with code 4. BrAInS[ZUNE]

  6. Josh Schell said,

    Oh btw, I can still run the demos. I just wanted to know if anyone else encountered that build error.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

